League & Pairs Results
The final round of games in the top 3 divisions of Moray Province East largely followed form.
Division 1
Alan Campbell’s Buckie winning Division 1 for the fourth year in succession.
Alan easily defeated a depleted Elgin Tennis Club, despite a rare appearance from skip Dave Mcpherson.
Kenny Oswald’s close win over Andy Cameron, confirmed his runner up spot, just pipped to the title by 1 point.
Neil Durno , with nothing to play for but pride, easily beat the already relegated , knockout cup winning Ballindalloch boys.
Division 2
Has been the tightest of leagues and Gavin Nicol’s victory over Abby Duncan takes the Darnaway lads back to Division 1 as champions.
Abby’s loss and Donald Ross’s win over relegated Ronald Christie means the Sunninghill mob also go up to Division 1 and lets Bill Jaffrey’s Fochabers team leap into third spot with a second week’s win over Eddie Milne ensuring their safety , but relegation for Eddie.
In Division 3
there was a shock draw for Forres’s Howard Anstruther in a very tight tussle with Alastair Grant’s Elgin rink.
It was Howard’s only point dropped this season and he will be joined in Division 2 next season by Mike McDonald who overcame the fellow Forres rink of Charlie Watt jnr in what was a straight shootout for the second promotion spot.
In the other match, Bob Stewart Elgin ensured his league position with a close 7-6 win over Ross McCulloch’s Juniors who came back strongly with 4 shots in the last two ends.
In the mixed pair competition for the Grant Salvers, Andy Cameron and Louise Marshall came out on top of the ten entries with a +10 shot aggregate , 3 shots ahead of runners up Mike Watt and Ruth Kennedy.